Include Recent News Effects functional test file
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Scheuerle and Oldfield to Face Off Again
Author : Archerfield Speedway

Whilst the miraculous finish from last Saturday nights Sprintcar feature race at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway is no doubt still resonating in the collective consciousness of all those who watched it unfold, the key players in Andrew Scheuerle and Luke Oldfield have little time for rumination on the course of events because they will face off again this Saturday night (October 14) in round three of the East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship. The duo, who have finished first and second respectively in both rounds completed thus far, will take on another 26 drivers this weekend and it will be very interesting to see if there is anybody who can step up to end their domination. On a massive program featuring more than 120 competitors, Formula 500s, Wingless Sprintcars, AMCA Nationals, Lightning Sprints, Modlites and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedans will also be unleashed on the new clay track surface that produced some spectacular action last weekend.

So, who can disrupt the Scheuerle/Oldfield juggernaut? Thus far, very few have been able to make much impression on the dynamic duo, with a trio of teenagers in Lachlan McHugh, Mitchell Gee and Callum Walker (pictured) the only drivers to offer any serious resistance and it is hard to look beyond these three when trying to envisage who might bring about a change at the top of the order. McHugh looked to have it done when he stormed into the lead in the opening round, only for a flat tyre to intervene, with a third-place finish in round two bringing some solace to the Gold Coast-based racer. Having finished third in the opening round, Gee backed up with a fourth-place finish last weekend, while Walker has finished fifth in both rounds, the most recent of which came at the end of a superb charge from the back of the field. Toowoomba’s Peter Lack has been solid without yet reproducing the form that he carried though last season, while Brent Kratzmann scored a feature race win at Toowoomba a few weeks ago and therefore cannot be discounted.

The addition of Mick Sauer and Cody Maroske to the field for the first time this season might mix things up, while Jayden Peacock will also be looking to better showcase his talents after crashing out in the opening heat last weekend. Wingless Sprint king Adam Butler is a welcome addition to the field but, given what has transpired in the two rounds completed thus far, it is going to take something special from one or more of the other 20+ challengers if there is going to be any change in the pecking order come feature race time.

In round two of the KRE Race Engines Formula 500 Series, national champ Liam Williams will be chasing his third consecutive feature race victory. Having won the opening race of the season at Archerfield, Williams backed up to take the opening KRE series round in Toowoomba and now returns to his home track hell bent on doing it again. Arch rival James Kennedy no doubt has other ideas, while Kristin Brown is also a feature winner here and will be desperate to revisit the podium. Junior graduates Randy Morgan and Nick Hodges have wasted no time in proving themselves at this level, while Ryan McNamara should also fancy his chances after finishing second behind Williams in round one.

An excellent field of 20 competitors has been secured for the opening round of the Shock Absorber Therapy AMCA Nationals Track Championship, including four-time Australian champion Shane McKinnell in a return to competition. McKinnell will take on defending track champion Steve Potts, former national champ and current NSW titleholder Matt Hardy and regular front runners such as Steve Price, Michael Mason and Nathan Durston. Along with all the regular runners, four new drivers will make their category debut, which is a positive sign for the season ahead.

After an impressive start to their season here last month, another stout field of Wingless Sprints will contest round two of the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Club Championship, with opening round winner Brant Chandler leading the charge. Second and third in the opening round, Paul Robinson and Cody OConnell are back again, with Brody Thomsen, Stephen Thomsen and Brian Dixon also in the field, along with a trio of NSW-based competitors looking to upstage the locals.

In round two of the Modlite Pro Series, Klinton Hancey will be out to replicate his performance in Gatton last weekend when he outpaced Queensland champion Terry Leerentveld to win the feature race. Leerentveld has proven almost unbeatable at Archerfield over the last few seasons (including the opening round) and it will be very interesting to see if Hancey can bring his winning form to the big stage. Australian champ Aaron Prosser is also in the field, while Brad Dawson, Sean Rose, Ben Walker and Nathan Politch were amongst the front runners in their last Archerfield outing and will fancy their chances of procuring a place on the podium.

Lightning Sprints and Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedans complete another huge program of speedway action, which gets underway with early racing from 5.00pm. Sprintcar qualifying (time trials) is scheduled for 5.30pm and the main program will kick off at 6.00pm.

East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship round three nominations: Stewart Craig, Dan Murray, Cody Maroske, Andrew Corbet, Brock Dean, Mick Sauer, Luke Oldfield, Adam Butler, Brett Minett, Andrew Scheuerle, David Whell, Lachlan McHugh, Mitchell Gee, Peter Lack, Nelson Reddacliff, Callum Walker, Brad Ayers, Steve Greer, Mitch Gowland, Steven Rowell, Kris Jennings, Brent Kratzmann, Karl Hoffmans, Andrew Liebke, Andrew Marks, Ben Hilder, Kristy Bonsey, Mark Pholi

KRE Race Engines Formula 500 Series round two nominations: Liam Williams, Tomas Partington, Adrian Farrell, Bryn Upshall, Ethan Eyears, Kristin Brown, James Kennedy, Nick Hodges, Marshall Lewis, Randy Morgan, Piper Ogilvie, Royce Harvey, Ryan McNamara, Brady Argles, Mitchell Whittaker, Tony Bailey

Shock Absorber Therapy AMCA Nationals Track Championship round one nominations: Anthony Joyce, Chris Wright, Steve Potts, Matt Hardy, Russ Hardy, Shane McKinnell, Nathan Durston, Cody Simmons, Damien Groer, Thomas Vickery, Ricky Sendall, David Moore, Graeme Holland, Matt Dunlop, Lewis Gamble, Matthew Herne, Michael Mason, Nick Storey, Tony Blanch, Steve Price

Ian Boettcher Race Parts Wingless Sprint Club Championship round two nominations: Brody Thomsen, Steve Love, Brad Keilar, Paul Taylor, Stephen Thomsen, Brant Chandler, Paul Robinson, Mick Lampard, Brian Dixon, Cody OConnell, Jason Black, Geoff Davey, Matthew Wright, Josh Dreaver, Michael Reid, Michael Butcher

Modlites Pro Series round two nominations: Terry Leerentveld, Ben Walker, Aaron Prosser, Klinton Hancey, Brad Dawson, Sean Rose, Dylan Hunter, Brendon Tucker, Chris Crowe, Sam Gollschewsky, Neil Gregson, Nathan Politch, Chris Were, Kyle Honour

For more information, head to the track website at or follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook for event updates.

New Page 2