Include Recent News Effects functional test file
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Oldfield Surges to Easter Win and Wilson Retains Aussie Crown
Author : Archerfield Speedway

Luke Oldfield continued his stunning season of success at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway on Saturday night (April 15), racing to victory in round two of the Clay-Per-View Easter Triple Challenge. After again setting the benchmark in time trials and then securing pole position for the feature race with victory in the Gold Shootout, Oldfield swapped the lead with Robbie Farr before ultimately prevailing in a sensational 40-lap finale. Peter Lack finished in third spot ahead of Brent Kratzmann, who put in a mighty drive through the field after becoming involved in an incident on the opening lap that eliminated Andrew Scheuerle and Kevin Titman.

On the same program, Kurt Wilson retained his Australian Lightning Sprint Championship, leading throughout the 25-lap feature race to finish ahead of Jordan Binskin and Queensland champ Wayne Iacono, with Danny Stone and Keith Blatch rounding out the top five.

In the second round of racing for the Ian Boettcher Race Parts Wingless Sprints Easter Trail, it was Dubbo’s Mark Blyton who prevailed in the feature race. Glen Wright finished second and was the only Queenslander inside the first five, with Daniel Flood grabbing third with a late-race pass on Marshall Blyton.

A 36-car field fronted for competition for the second night of Easter Sprintcar action and it was Oldfield, as he has done so many times this season, who topped the timesheets in qualifying, stopping the clock at 12.532 on a heavy track to edge out Lack (12.567) and Scheuerle (12.592). Fresh from his feature race win the previous night, Lachlan McHugh was fourth fastest ahead of Farr, with Daniel Sayre sixth quickest and the best of the interstate contingent. Bryan Mann, Andrew Corbet, Kratzmann and Titman completed the top ten.

The opening heat saw Mark Pholi finish ahead of Brodie Tulloch and Callum Walker, while heat two saw Brock Dean finish almost half a lap clear of the field in his win over Phil Foster and Kristy Bonsey.

Darren Jensen outgunned Kratzmann and Cody Maroske to snare heat three before Tulloch returned to score an emphatic result over Jayden Peacock and Corbet in heat four.

Maroske downed David Whell and Dean to win heat five and then Mick Sauer rounded out the preliminaries when he triumphed in the final heat in advance of Titman and Bonsey.

The Pole Shootout saw Mann and Titman advance from the Bronze round to the Silver showdown, but neither was able to advance any further as Lack and Scheuerle progressed to challenge Oldfield and Farr in the final clash. It was Oldfield who snared the prime position for the main event in the Gold Shootout, to be joined on the front row by Scheuerle.

The battle for the final transfer spots from the B Main ended in spectacular fashion, leaving a trail of wreckage and some frayed tempers. With just a couple of laps remaining, Michael Saller jumped on the brakes to avoid a somersaulting Brendan Parker, leaving Darren Jensen with nowhere to go. The resulting contact launched both cars into orbit, Jensen for the second time on the night following an earlier heat race rollover. In the aftermath of the carnage, it was Sauer who prevailed over Brendan Scorgie, with Whell and Bonsey grabbing the final transfer spots.

Unfortunately for Scheuerle, his feature race ended in the first corner when contact between he and Oldfield left him stranded against the wall to be collected by Titman and Kratzmann, with the crash perhaps having significant implications for Scheuerle in his bid to win back-to-back track championships. Of the three, only Kratzmann was able to restart, albeit from the back of the field. The second attempted start only made it as far as the back straight when Matt Dumesny slowed suddenly and sent the field scattering. With Dumesny on the infield and everybody else emerging unscathed for the restart, the race got underway cleanly and Oldfield charged to the front ahead of Lack and Farr. Lap three saw McHugh move ahead of Farr, who reclaimed the spot two laps later and then moved ahead of Lack to secure second on lap 10. As McHugh lost all hope of consecutive feature wins courtesy of a flat tyre on lap 24, Farr charged into the lead, a position he held for the next 10 circulations before Oldfield pounced in lapped traffic to reclaim the top spot. From here, Oldfield was not to be denied and surged to the chequer to score an impressive win over Farr, Lack and Kratzmann. Dean capped a great night in finishing fifth, with Whell and Walker the last runners on the lead lap. Sauer, Corbet, Scorgie, Phil Foster and Bonsey completed the finishers as Mann, Maroske, Tulloch and Sayre failed to go the distance.

Queensland champ Wayne Iacono topped qualifying in the Australian Lightning Sprint Championship with two heat wins. The remaining preliminaries were shared between Kurt Wilson, Jordan Binskin, Sean Iacono and David Van Vegchel.

A superb start from Binskin in the Dash saw him sweep into the lead, a position he maintained through the 6 laps to secure pole position for the championship final, leading home Wilson, Aaron Kelly, Wayne Iacono, Blatch and Van Vegchel.

The feature race was a very straightforward affair with Wilson racing around Binskin through turn two on the opening lap to take command of proceedings and subsequently maintain his advantage through to the chequer. Binskin faced little resistance in his run to the runner-up spot, with Iacono unable to repeat his heat race heroics and had to settle for third. Stone advanced from position seven to fill fourth, with Blatch, Aaron Kelly and Van Vegchel next in line. Kirsty Kelly, Brett Davies and Jason George completed the top ten.

For much of the Wingless Sprint feature race, a family 1-2 finish looked on the cards as Mark and Marshall Blyton occupied the top two spots. However, as the laps wound down, Wright surged into contention and made a bid for the lead following a restart with two laps remaining, but Blyton Snr held firm to score the win. A late surge from Flood saw him snatch third from Marshall Blyton, with Luke Sayre and Kristopher Johnson the best of the rest.

Wingless Sprint heat wins were shared between Mark Blyton, Wright, Ashleigh Jack, Adam Butler, Jason King and Cody Boulding, while Steve Gravino prevailed in the B Main, taking the race over Chad Larkings, Jeff Neve and Max Risberger.

The next meeting at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway is Saturday, April 29 featuring Sprintcars, Midgets, AMCA Nationals, Formula 500s, Open Sedans, Fireworks and a Demolition Derby.

New Page 2