Include Recent News Effects functional test file
Sprintcar World - Powered by Eagle Chassis

Twin Features Means Twice the Action
Author : Archerfield Speedway

The number of new Sprintcar drivers to hit the track at Ausdeck Patios Archerfield Speedway over the last 12 months or so has been remarkable and with two more competitors joining the ranks this weekend, along with the return of another experienced racer after a lengthy lay-off, 35 cars will face the flag this Saturday night (March 4) for round ten of the East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship. The influx of so many new drivers in recent seasons is testament to the status of this series as the premier Sprintcar competition in Queensland and this weekend we welcome Brendan Parker and Kevin Hill to the series for the first time, while Phill Foster returns to competition after several seasons on the sidelines. So far this season, ten other new drivers have embarked on their inaugural season of Sprintcar competition and six of these will be in action on Saturday evening for the annual twin feature night.

The influx of new drivers is unlikely to faze Luke Oldfield, Andrew Scheurele or Peter Lack though as they continue their battle for the championship. The trio not only sit atop the championship standings, but they also filled the first three spots at the previous round, leaving their opponents with a lot of work to do if they are make a play for the title. Oldfield has been the standout feature race winner this season, but his absence from round four with an engine problem means that the ultra-consistent Scheuerle continues to sit atop the points table as he seeks to defend his track championship crown. Lack sits second overall ahead of Oldfield but, with less than 50 points separating the three of them, the series is far from decided with six rounds of racing still to go.

With a different format this weekend, this might just be the opportunity that the likes of Brent Kratzmann and Mitchell Gee need to narrow the gap in the championship chase. Kratzmann sits fourth overall but is more than 100 points adrift of Oldfield, while Gee just is five points further back and both drivers need to produce a big points haul from the twin feature format if they are make any inroads on the leading trio. Gee and fellow teenager Lachlan McHugh are feature race winners at Archerfield and the latter will be hoping to cast aside the misfortune that saw him crash heavily at the last round with a return to the podium. Also sitting inside the top ten in the series standings at the moment are David Whell, Callum Walker and Ben Hilder and with two 20-lap feature races to be contested and a swarm of drivers determined to take advantage of the opportunity the format presents, the scene is set for another sensational night of Sprintcar action.

However, sedan fans also have plenty to be excited about this Saturday with 25 drivers converging on Archerfield to contest the inaugural RSA Queensland Street Stock Championship. Drivers from as far afield as Sydney and Newcastle will hit the track in a bid to make history and become the first ever Queensland champion in RSA Street Stock competition. Having recently added a win in the ACT Championship to his New South Wales title, Aaron Barnes has probably earned the right to pre-race favouritism, although no doubt Australian champ Blake Everleigh would see things differently. Street Stock racing is notoriously competitive and given that almost all of the field will be competing at Archerfield for the first time, predicting a winner would be folly, but the likes of Shane Carlson, Andrew Espener, Jayden Barnes and Chris Marino, who finished second in the feature race at Cullen Bullen last weekend, will no doubt be in the thick of the action at the front of the field.

Also on the program will be Ford vs Holden vs Sigma sedans and the stars of the future in Formula 500 Juniors, whose racing in recent weeks has been top notch. Gates open at 4.00pm, early racing gets underway from 4.45pm, Sprintcars hit the track for time trials at 5.30pm and the main show kicks off at 6.00pm.

For more information, follow Archerfield Speedway on Facebook or head to the track website at for event information and updates.

East Coast Logistics Sprintcar Track Championship round ten nominations: Andrew Liebke, Andrew Marks, Andrew Scheuerle, Anthony Lambert, Anthony Vanderreyden, Ben Hilder, Brad Ayers, Brendan Parker, Brent Kratzmann, Brett Minett, Callum Walker, Chris Harrison, Cody Maroske, Dan Murray, Darren Silcock, David Whell, Dylan Menz, Jayden Peacock, Karl Hoffmans, Kevin Hill, Kevin Titman, Kristy Bonsey, Lachlan McHugh, Luke Oldfield, Mark Pholi, Mitch Gowland, Mitchell Gee, Neil Howard, Paul Rooks, Peter Lack, Phill Foster, Rob Hamilton, Scott Johnston, Simon Jupe, Tim Ford

RSA Queensland Street Stock Championship nominations: Aaron Barnes, Andrew Espener, Andrew Fuller, Ashley Hall, Ben Cartwright, Blake Everleigh, Braydon Ford, Brendan Myers, Chris Marino, Daniel Forbes, Daniel Lindsay, Dave Putsey, David Fuller, David Hollier, Graeme Waller, Jamie Smith, Jayden Barnes, Jessica Turner, Joshua Donnelly, Luke Gray, Madison Harkin, Nigel OI’Neill, Peter Chaffey, Shane Carlson, Shaun Devoodi, Steve Hall, Tim Cartwright

New Page 2